VeganMoFo Day 13: Overzealous Pizzas with Roasted Veggies

Earlier tonight, I sent this picture of the booger bunny to my sister-in-law. She responded by asking if Thump was on safari. She wasn’t far off.

Safari

It’s 5,000 here degrees today, so the temperature feels safari-ish. The monkey and elephant have a giraffe friend, all of whom were purchased by me at the now legendary Target visit the other day. They’re actually dog toys, but since the dog has been quietly eating all the rabbit toys lately, I figured Thump could use some dog toys. Interestingly, the dog is totally ignoring them.

Mocha

Still riding high from my success with the Beyond Meat grilled strips yesterday, I decided to use the Beyond Meat beefy crumbles tonight. Although everyone is sort of sluggish from the heat, I determined we were all starving. As it turns out, we’re too hot to be starving and I managed to make enough pizza for the rest of  the year this weekend.

To go along with California’s idea of roasting the state this weekend, I started out by roasting veggies. I tossed onion, red pepper, green pepper, and diced garlic with olive oil, salt, and pepper on a foil lined cookie sheet. I roasted them for about 20 minutes in the oven at 425.veggies

I threw the Beyond Meat beefy crumbles into a pan with some olive oil and added 1 ½ teaspoons Italian seasoning, ½ teaspoon kosher salt, and ½ teaspoon pepper and cooked it until browned. It was my favorite kind of too-hot summer night dinner plan: imprecise and easy.

We used Pillsbury Pizza Crusts (on PETA’s Accidentally Vegan list) for the dough and plain ol’ store bought pizza sauce with all vegan ingredients because it was easy. I managed to corral my hungry 19-year-old into helping me decorate the crusts with the roasted veggies, crumbles, mushrooms, olives, vegan pepperoni, and Daiya cheese.

Pizza

Despite my belief that we were famished, we have four million pieces leftover in the fridge for tomorrow. This is a shocking surprise since I only made one pizza per person. How could that be too much?

Pizza

My husband said it’ll be breakfast, lunch, and dinner tomorrow. Then, he said, he’d take it to lunch on Monday.

My son thought that was an interesting choice, and I couldn’t help but wonder aloud what the pizza might order on this peculiar lunch date with my husband… Needless to say, my husband thinks we’re hilarious.

So, with enough foil-wrapped pizza stored for the apocalypse, I’m signing off for tonight. I’m not sure what I’ll have to share tomorrow since reheated pizza doesn’t seem too exciting right now. I’m sure I’ll find something. Perhaps, just to spice things up a bit, I should invite a guest to entertain you all. I suppose that if all else fails, the booger bunny can visit you and do show-and-tell with her new toys.

Potential Guest Bloggers: Mocha "It Wasn't Me" Dog and Thumper "The Mop" Rabbit

Potential Guest Bloggers: (left to right) Thumper “The Mop” Rabbit and Mocha “It Wasn’t Me” Dog

Or perhaps Mocha can explain her recent obsession with willow-based rabbit toys. We’ve observed Mocha chowing down on dry leaves for years, a strange favorite of hers we dubbed “Dog Salad,” so this isn’t an entirely shocking turn of events. Besides, Thump’s toys are all vegan, and apparently quite tasty to Mo. But Mocha also eats soap, so I wouldn’t put too much stock in her opinion. I suggest taking pizza out to lunch instead.

Pizza

3 responses to “VeganMoFo Day 13: Overzealous Pizzas with Roasted Veggies

  1. Awesome post; the pizzas all look great! And such cute pics of Thump and Mocha! 🙂

  2. Wow, those pizzas look incredible!! I need pizza right now.

Leave a Reply

