Hello VeganMoFo 2014! Take a Seat and Let’s Have Some Soup!

Hey, MoFo-ers and all you hungry people! It’s good to see you again! How’ve you been? It’s been a while, hasn’t it? And now, here we are and here we go!

Chef MoFo!

I’ll be pantsing it once again this MoFo because cooking and writing about cooking should be spontaneous and fun! Plus, I didn’t remember VeganMoFo was in September now until a few days ago. I like to think I’d choose spontaneity anyway. Unfortunately, today I was reminded that even the best un-laid schemes o’ mice an’ men often go awry.

Now, do you hear something? Kinda faintly playing in the background? Listen closely and you’ll hear them. Yes, there they are. Tiny violins playing just for me. I’m afraid it’s true.

It’s day one of MoFo, but it’s day two of a summer virus!

Boo! Hiss!

I know, I know. It’s dreadful, really. And I could tell you all about the super fun road trip I missed today that would have taken me out to the middle of nowhere to check out an old car that’s been baking in the desert sun for years. I should note here that I love both the desert and curious old cars. Therefore, bah! Such a bummer. At least they sent pictures.

And such is life. Sometimes you’re the picture-sender, sometimes you’re the bummed out picture-sendee.

So what’s a girl to do when life hands her a lonely (tiny violins) day of sickness? She thanks her lucky stars that Vegan MoFo is here to motivate her and she makes delicious soup!

Ahhh, but of course!

Feel Better! Noodle Soup

Serves 4-6

  • 2 yellow onions, chopped
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 heaping tablespoon fresh ginger (grated on a microplane grater)
  • Olive oil
  • 2-3 carrots, sliced
  • 2 cups (appx) baby bella mushrooms, sliced
  • 3 baby bok choy, chopped
  • 4 baby bell peppers in bright colors, sliced
  • 1 package extra-firm tofu, cut in half, then cut into cubes
  • 1 bundle green onions, chopped
  • 1 carton vegetable broth
  • 1 packet instant Miso soup (mine was made by Mishima Foods)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 package Udon noodles
  • Sriracha and Soy Sauce for serving

To begin, chop your onion, mince your garlic, and grate your ginger. Slice your carrots into coins. If you’re sick enough to want some carrot love, but not so sick that friends and family are concerned about your knife handling skills, you can cut your carrots into hearts.

Lovely, heart-shaped carrots

Aww… Carrot Love.

Dontcha just heart them so much?

I saw this done recently and felt it was time to put my Cub Scout Whittling Chip knowledge to work. Using a paring knife, I cut a v-shaped wedge out of the carrot. Then I used my vegetable scraper to create the other edges. It’s really rather easy. Then again, if, like me, you’ve ever been a Cub Scout leader and helped about twenty 9-year-olds armed with shiny, new pocketknives learn how to whittle by carving bars of soap into bears while on an overnight camping trip, well… At least I can assure you it’s easier than that.

In a large stock pot, heat olive oil and add the onion, garlic, and ginger. Saute in oil until fragrant. Mmm, heavenly.

Add your carton of vegetable broth and the carrots. Simmer for about 10 minutes.

I boiled my noodles separately, so this is when I put them on. Follow the directions on the package and drain them according to those directions.

Measure out 2/3 cup of water and heat until boiling. Add miso soup packet and whisk together.

Most of the carrots end up at the top of the strainer.

Use a strainer to strain the broth into another pot or heat-safe bowl. Return the broth to the original pot and add the mushrooms, bok choy, bell peppers, tofu, green onions, and miso soup mix.

The majority of your carrots should be at the top of the strainer. Scoop them back into the pot. No need to be too careful. The goal is to mostly put the carrots back and mostly leave the onion, garlic, and ginger out in order to keep the broth clearer.

Simmer together for about 5 minutes, then add drained noodles

Add sriracha and soy sauce to taste.

Super yummy. Happy tummy. Sleepy chef.

Here’s to good health, happiness, compassion, kindness, and a fun 2014 VeganMoFo adventure for us all!

Cheers!

 

 

 

 

 

8 responses to “Hello VeganMoFo 2014! Take a Seat and Let’s Have Some Soup!

  1. Looks great! I love a good noodle soup.

  2. Monique Archbold

    I am now so very, very hungry! And the carrot hearts are to die for. 😉

  3. So happy to have you back!

  4. I agree with Monique! I love your heart carrots and hope you feel better soon! Even when you aren’t feeling good you are spreading sunshine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

