VeganMoFo Day 19: Friday’s the Apple of My Eye Day… ‘Cuz It’s Pie Day!

I arrived home today thrilled that it was Friday. I have a big weekend planned, but it felt so good to hit the couch and put my feet up. My older son is at a tournament this weekend, but my younger son joined me in streaming old sitcoms and vegging out — no pun intended.

The day’s fog burned off early, but fall is definitely still in the air. Nothing quite completes a crisp fall day the way a fresh-baked pie does. Tonight, pie was in the air as well, so I reached out and grabbed it for all of us to enjoy this lovely, lazy Friday evening.

Fall Friday Apple Pie Day Pie

  • 6 Granny Smith apples, peeled and sliced (about 8 cups)
  • ½ cup dark brown sugar
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/8 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • Juice from ½ lemon
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • ¼ cup vanilla almond milk

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit.

Peel and thinly slice the apples. They don’t need to be too thin, but they shouldn’t be heavy chunks either.

In a separate bowl mix all ingredients except the almond milk until blended. Add to the apples and toss together until the apples are covered. Add the almond milk and toss again, coating all apples evenly.

Prepare the double crust recipe of your choice. I used Diane’s Whirl Pie Crust Recipe I shared here: https://xmeansnoonions.wordpress.com/2012/10/10/veganmofo-day-10-attack-of-the-blueberry-lava-monster-mini-pies/

After placing the bottom crust in the pie plate, poke a few holes into the dough with a fork. Leave the extra hanging over the edge for now. After adding the pie filling ingredients, gather the top and bottom edges and crimp them together between your fingers to form an edge on the crust. Use a fork or knife to make additional holes in the top crust to allow the pie to vent while cooking.

Bake the pie at 425 for about 45 minutes or until the crust is light brown and the filling, if visible, is bubbly. Let cool before serving.

What’s better than fresh apple pie? Vanilla ice cream and fresh apple pie, of course! So I also made vanilla ice cream using the Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe from Cathe Olson’s Lick It. http://www.amazon.com/Creamy-Dreamy-Vegan-Creams-Mouth/dp/1570672377/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1350711948&sr=8-1&keywords=Lick+it+ice+cream

The ice cream tasted sweet and delicious. It also set up much softer than I anticipated. I’m not sure if it was the heat of the pie or if I stopped the ice cream maker too soon, but it melted very quickly. I’ll play with it again soon and see if I can get it to set up more firmly.

To top it all off, a few weeks ago we attended Music in the Meadow at Animal Place in Grass Valley. My husband adores caramel and sampled some Obsessive Confection Disorder caramel while we were there. http://www.obsessiveconfectiondisorder.com/

It’s a good thing we’re married or he might have confessed his undying love for this caramel and proposed to the woman who makes it right on the spot. This caramel is amazing! My husband bought some small caramel bars (that he didn’t share, by the way) and I bought a jar of her caramel sauce which I hid it in the back of the fridge. Tonight, I heated a bit of it up and drizzled it over our pie and ice cream. Yum!

When the pie cooled and the ice cream was ready, we settled in for our fall treat. The house feels and smells like the holidays now, all warm and sweet and cozy. It’s hard to believe our October is already slipping away!

Winter will be here before we know it. It seems the holidays are always upon us before we even begin to truly enjoy the season. As I pack up our decorations each January, I find myself wondering how to prevent this from happening again the following year. Tonight, I’m thinking the secret is as simple as making more pies.

After all, if just a plain ol’ apple a day keeps the doctor away, one can only imagine all the good that comes from enjoying a fresh-baked apple pie! I’m going to dig in and find out! Why don’t you try it, too? Let’s all resolve this season to see what we can accomplish with the power of pie. You have to admit it’s at least worth a try!

Leave a Reply

