VeganMoFo Day 17: Yummy Hummy

I’m going to get straight to the point. Today was a long day that culminated in a visit to the dentist. I know. Tragic, right?

Really, I do know this isn’t a big deal. People have much longer days than my long day was and a visit to the dentist is not a cause for moping and wailing. For most people.

According to some, I have an unfounded and illogical fear of the dentist. According to me, any place you go and find people hiding their faces while shining lights in your eyes and wielding sharp metal hooks is a very, very bad place. Couple those threats with the high-pitched whining of drills and strangled suction noises and this scene has all the earmarks of a B horror flick. Let’s face it; we’re just one locked door and a blackout away from a total bloodbath.

My dentist seems like a nice enough guy. I really like him. He’s funny, a family man, a Giants fan, and he somehow manages to tolerate my fear-clenched muscles and obvious lack of commitment to flossing. I couldn’t pick him out of a line up because of the surgical mask, though. Not that I think I’d ever need to, mind you.

Today, the tension was thicker than usual. The announcers’ voices describing the Giants game mumbled through the sound system, grimly informing us that the Giants were behind.

After my cleaning, I came home with shiny, achy teeth and a strong desire to indulge in something sweet and soft. I knew just the thing. The only problem was, I had no idea how to make it.

I had a sample of a chocolate chip hummus a while back. It was surprisingly yummy. I didn’t have a recipe for it, but I’d filed the idea in the back of my brain. I googled it today and realized there is a lot of variation in how people prepare dessert hummus. Playtime!

Here’s what I did:

Yummy Hummy

  • 15.5 oz can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/3 cup (approximately) old-fashioned oats
  • ¼ cup (approximately) peanut butter
  • ¼ cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • ¼ cup vanilla almond milk
  • ¾ cup vegan chocolate chips

After rinsing and draining the garbanzo beans, I realized that it might be better to remove those little skins they have. Some had come off during the rinse. I pulled those out. I didn’t know if they would create a texture problem, but I wanted to remove more.

To do this, I rolled small handfuls of the garbanzo beans between my hands. The motion was the same as if I was washing my hands with liquid soap. After rubbing my hands together a few times, I opened my hands and pull out any freed skins. I repeated this until no more skins came loose.

This method won’t remove all the skins, but it will reduce the amount in the final product.

Next, mash the garbanzo beans in a bowl with a fork.

Add all other ingredients except the chocolate chips and beat with a hand mixer until well combined and no beans are visible.

Add the chocolate chips and stir.

The result is a very yummy hummy. It could be made sweeter by adding more sugar. Out of respect for my dentist, I kept the sugar relatively low this time.

I served mine in a bowl with fruit for dipping and Trader Joe cookies. When I had the sample of something like this, it was made without the oats and rolled into little balls like raw cookie dough. In this case, the fruit made great shovels for scooping . And the cookies? They’re there because you can never have too many cookies.

This is a wonderful little feel-good snack. With garbanzo beans, oats, almond milk, and peanut butter, it’s almost a health food. In fact, let’s just say this is a health food with the dessert built into it.

I’m feeling secure at home now. Free from the torturous sounds of the dentist’s office, I’m quietly content with my clean teeth and full stomach. I’m also peaceful in the knowledge that I’ll be spared the terror of the dentist’s office for another six months. I might have even flossed tonight due to my hummus-induced happiness. Unfortunately, my mouth is still sore from the cleaning. It’s okay, though. I’m sure I’ll remember to start flossing tomorrow.

One response to “VeganMoFo Day 17: Yummy Hummy

  1. Chocolate hummus? I am a bit speechless, suffice to say I wish I’d thought of this! Awesome.

Leave a Reply

