VeganMoFo Day 11: Peanut Butter and Ramen to the Rescue!

Meet Mocha.

Every day when I leave home, the last thing I do is remind Mocha that she’s in charge of the house. Most of the time, she does a great job. Occasionally, she eats a loaf of bread that someone carelessly left on the counter. Very rarely, she does something a little naughty, but come on. Don’t judge Mocha. We’re all guilty of being a little naughty sometimes, right?

Due to a little distraction named VeganMoFo, some of the chores around here have been allowed to slide lately. The last couple of days, I’ve changed what I say to Mocha as I leave. Now the morning goes something like this:

I open the door to leave. Mocha appears out of nowhere, dancing and tapping her toenails on the floor, doing her best to look like every other morning she goes with me. You never know when I might become confused and bring her along.

Me: “Mocha, I’m sorry, baby. You have to stay home. You’re in charge. Be a good girl. And I’d really appreciate it if you could clean the house while I’m gone today.”

Mocha: Forlorn look, big sad eyes as I close the door.

I do feel bad when I see the crushed expression on her big doggy face. I don’t like cleaning the house either, Mocha. But somebody has to do it.

Every afternoon, however, I arrive home and the house is in the same state that I left it in. Pretty disappointing. Then today I came home to a napkin she found and shredded in protest. Okay, Mocha. I get it. A vegan shouldn’t ask her dog to clean the house. Point taken.

What this meant was that today I needed a tummy filling, stick to your ribs kinda meal or snack that would tide me over until dinner. It needed to be something that was easy to make and gave me the superhuman power required to clean.

Enter…

Peanut Butter and Ramen otherwise known as PB & R

  • 3 oz. Ramen (or similar type) noodles
  • ¼ cup peanut butter
  • ¼ cup water
  • 2 tablespoons Braggs Liquid Aminos or vegan soy sauce
  • A few drops of sesame oil, about 1 teaspoon
  • 1 clove garlic, grated on a microplane grater
  • 2 teaspoons fresh ginger, grated on a microplane grater
  • 1-2 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes

Bring two cups of water to a boil in a 2-quart pot. Dump in your noodles. If the noodles came with some sort of spice packet, throw it away.

In a separate pot, and I prefer a 1-quart non-stick pot for this, add all of your other ingredients. Feel free to adjust the ingredient amounts as desired. If necessary or easier, you can also use ground ginger and/or garlic powder in place of the fresh.

Heat the ingredients at medium heat. There is no need to try mixing them together just yet. The peanut butter will soften as it becomes warmer. After a moment or two, you can gently whisk the ingredients together. You want the consistency of a thin sauce, definitely not too thick. If it seems too thick, add just a bit more water to thin. Continue heating until hot.

During this time, your noodles should finish cooking. Drain them in a colander and then place them in a bowl.

Now comes the exciting part. Noodles, meet your peanut butter! Pour the peanut butter mixture over the noodles. Gently toss the noodles in the peanut butter mixture. Sprinkle with crushed red pepper flakes.

Seriously, you’ll be surprised at both how filling and how tasty this mixture is. It’s so good, especially on a cold day. Or a day when you’re hungry. Or even on a day when you just have to clean your house.

The following message is brought to you by the color RED:

If you don’t have one, consider falling in love with a little nonstick pot with cute little pour dimples on the sides like you can see on mine. The day we found mine, my husband was skeptical when I told him I loved it and needed it. That might have something to do with my magnetic attraction to any red kitchen item in the universe, a magnetism that extends beyond practicality and reason. This time, however, I made a powerful case for the amazing sauces I would suddenly be able to create purely as a result of owning such a spectacular red pot. He came to see the power of the special red pot, or maybe he got tired of hearing about it, and I bought it. Just as I suspected, I really do love it and I use it all the time.

Getting back to business, let the PB & R cool slightly while you quickly clean up the very small mess you might’ve made. Then sit down and enjoy! PB & R will fill you up, spice you up, and butter you up so you’ll just be nuts to start whatever it is that lies in front of you!

PB & R power ups. So good, you don’t need the jelly!

After eating my PB & R, I was ready to clean the house so I can keep powering through MoFo. I’m having a blast doing this (doing MoFo, not doing house cleaning). I’m so happy I decided to join in the MoFo fun.

Once I’m done posting this, I’m off to continue my cleaning. As for Mocha, she’s taking a nap. She has a busy day of being in charge again tomorrow – and a girl needs her beauty sleep.

One response to “VeganMoFo Day 11: Peanut Butter and Ramen to the Rescue!

  1. Aah, peanut butter and noodles is a match made in heaven for sure. And cute dog!

Leave a Reply

