VeganMoFo Day 8: Vegan Ice Cream – Comfort Food of Champions

Monday, Monday, Monday… Why must you be such a cliché? Not always, but often enough I feel like the comic strip cat Garfield, grumbling over a cup of coffee and ruing that I once again succumbed to the requirement that adults behave like grown ups and plow through a day that’s misbehaving and sticking its fingers in its ears while waggling its tongue at the world.

Today was just such a Monday. It still kind of is, as evidenced by my rush to get this post in before the clock strikes midnight, Cinderella’s carriage turns back into a pumpkin, and my Monday MoFo is published on Tuesday! By dessert time, I needed the power of vegan comfort food, and I needed it bad!

We had Big Salad for dinner tonight. If you’ve read my other posts, it is a variation of the other salad of Big Salad fame. Big Salad is one of my happy foods. It’s also easy, cleans out the refrigerator, and makes you feel healthy and responsible. That’s a lot of bragging rights for one meal. But tonight I wanted more traditional comfort food. You know the kind. It’s the stuff that makes you feel happy inside but brings a little nudge of guilt. You can’t have it all the time, but sometimes you need it. Yep, that’s the stuff I wanted tonight.

Quick, uncomplicated vegan comfort food that actually requires you to consume too much is vegan ice cream. I haven’t had luck freezing vegan ice cream. When I make it, it simply must be consumed in one night, preferably in one sitting with the family gathered together and unabashedly going back for seconds, thirds, fourths – whatever it takes to get the job done!

Now, before I continue I want to be clear. I did have help with the ice cream you see in those bowls in the picture! Really, I did!

I decided to make a simple base and add some yummies in the last few minutes. For one batch, I used a vanilla-ish base adapted from the Vanilla Ice Cream recipe in Cathe Olson’s Lick It!

Vanilla-ish Ice Cream Base — Adding the Final Ingredient Creates “Biscoff Eruption”!

  • 14 oz. can coconut milk
  • 1 ¼ cups almond milk, plain
  • ½ cup organic sugar
  • 1 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract
  • optional (but you won’t regret it) 1/4 cup Biscoff Spread

I quickly mixed all the ingredients except the Biscoff Spread together in a bowl and then dumped them into the ice cream maker. The bowl had been frozen as per the ice cream maker’s instructions. It was that simple.

On to base number two! This is an extremely simple recipe I’ve seen online in several places. I’m not sure of its original origins, but it’s obviously well used, well-known, and well-loved.

Chocolate Ice Cream Base – Plus Final Ingredient Creates “Chocolate Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich Ice Cream”

  • 1 ½ cups almond milk, plain
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons organic sugar
  • optional (again, you won’t regret it) 1/4 cup peanut butter

Mix the cocoa with ½ cup of almond milk in a large glass mixing cup. If it’s not a large enough cup, the next step gives you plenty of encouragement to clean your microwave. Microwave the cocoa and almond milk for 30 seconds and mix again just to be certain it’s blended. Then dump everything except the peanut butter into your blender and blend! Pour this mixture into your prepared ice cream maker and fire it up!

I let the ice cream maker run for about ½ and hour. Ice cream makers fill your home with goodness but they make a huge racket while they’re getting the job done. I hide mine in another room while it churns away.

When I checked on the ice cream, I discovered a vanilla eruption occurring. Time to turn the machine off. The chocolate side was soft and low, which is always the case because of the microwave step. If you have the time, putting that mixture in the fridge for a while before processing would undoubtedly result in a more solid ice cream. I don’t mind the mess and am not patient when it comes to ice cream, so we eat ours all drippy-runny. It reminds me of hot summer days when I was a child and didn’t care if I had ice cream running down my arm – not that I let it get quite that bad now. Not quite!

For fun, I decided to stir in a couple of my favorite spreads. I put ¼ cup of peanut butter in the chocolate base.

And I put ¼ cup Biscoff Spread in the vanilla base. It became invisible immediately but added to the height of the ice cream.

I ran the ice cream maker for a couple of minutes afterwards but ended up doing a bit of stirring after taking the ice cream out of the freezer bowls. I wanted to make sure the ice cream and spreads were well blended and not clumpy.

The peanut butter was subtle in some spoonfuls and powerful in others, which is exactly what I wanted. The bananas, which I used to add the creamy texture, were very strong. Instead of ending up with a peanut butter cup, we filled up on something I will call Chocolate Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich Ice Cream.

The Biscoff Spread didn’t mix into the ice cream nearly as well as the peanut butter had, but somehow we still tasted Biscoff in every bite. That was even better than I expected! Biscoff Spread is one of my happy foods, too. Now I have Biscoff Eruption Ice Cream! I’ll be making this ice cream again.

I leave you tonight so that I can finish my ice cream before it runs down my arm and onto the keyboard. I’ll aim for more grown up food tomorrow. You’ll miss the ice cream, I know. I hope you’ll make some for yourself. Just remember: It’s really best if you eat it all in one sitting. It’s a sacrifice, but to end on another clichéd idea – Sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do!

Leave a Reply

