VeganMoFo Day 3: Tofurky Pizza and the What’s-In-Your-Crisper Big Salad

We’re on the move tonight, with everyone scattering to various locations right after dinner. Invariably, these are the nights when I arrive home late as well. It pays to have a plan on nights like these or everybody gets grumpy and carbo-loads instead of eating something healthy-ish.

Last week, in preparation for MoFo, my husband and I made the trek over the parched hills to the nearest Whole Foods. It’s about 35 miles away, which in California means it takes anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour and a half to get there. Even so, it’s worth the drive. Our local selection of vegan convenience foods is sparse and often poorly stocked. We frequently find ourselves explaining what it means to be “vegan” as well as trying to explain what “tempeh” or “seitan” is. As a result, we make a lot from scratch. I’ve come to prefer it and am most comfortable when I know exactly what’s in my food because I put it there myself. All the same, some nights we want to be just as lazy with our dinner as the next guy, and Whole Foods scratches that itch!

Cruising through the frozen food aisles, I spied pizzas that were loaded up with goodies, made by Tofurky, and actually labeled vegan! Now, those of you who live near places like Whole Foods may tell me they’ve been churning these babies out since 1937, but for me, this was revolutionary. Our local Target carries a vegan Amy’s pizza that is quite yummy, but you can only eat the same pizza so many times before groaning, “Ehhh…. pizza…” even on your busiest day.

Considering it was a frozen and done-in-10-minutes dinner, the pizzas turned out reasonably well. If I had to choose, I’d say I prefer the Amy’s and that my second choice is the Tofurky Italian Sausage & Fire Roasted Veggie. As far as the family is concerned, my husband told me that I could make a better pizza from scratch, but that for nights like tonight, these did the trick. I’ll take that as compliment!

Pizza alone feels like a bit of a cheat to me. My mother raised me to believe that every plate must be balanced with each of the four food groups. I wasn’t raised vegan; however, so my plate is now balanced with the super-awesome-new-fangled-dontcha-wish-we’d-had-that-when-we-were-kids VEGAN FOOD PYRAMID.

Tonight, I’m covering our bases with a What’s-In-Your-Crisper Big Salad. The name says it all, but I’ll thrill you with the details nonetheless.

Tonight’s What’s-In-Your-Crisper Big Salad

  •  ½ bunch kale
  • 1 bunch romaine
  • 1 pkg. of cherry tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1 head of cauliflower, chopped
  • 3 green onions, sliced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 3 carrots, grated or very finely chopped
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Croutons, if desired
  • Dressing, if desired

Chop it up, tear it up, fling it in a bowl. Toss it up, spice it up, gobble it up – go!

I love Big Salad. It rocks. I could eat it every day, and twice on Tuesdays. It makes me happy.

My husband uses Bacos because they are vegan and add flavor. They are weird to me. Since they are vegan, I wish they could be called something else. I suppose they wouldn’t sell as well if they were called Fake-Os. They might still be full of artificial junk and GMO soy, but I’d be a little more comfortable with them.

If I were in charge of the world, I’d rename all of the vegan foods with non-animal sounding names. I’d also label everything that’s vegan with a huge label that says, “Yeah, baby! This is VEGAN!” It’d make our lives so much easier. I’ll work on my plan for Vegan Global Domination later. For now, it’s time to scarf down dinner and zip out the door!

2 responses to “VeganMoFo Day 3: Tofurky Pizza and the What’s-In-Your-Crisper Big Salad

  1. That is a fine looking salad!

    I often reflect on the fact that I rarely miss any particular non-vegan food, but I do sometimes miss the convenience factor of being just a vegetarian. Cooking is great fun and I love to eat my own food, but sometimes I just want something good and tasty without any work. Bless you, tofurky pizza!

    • I totally agree. Where we live, there are no vegan restaurants either. We tried going to Subway once recently. When we said we wanted a vegan sandwich and the clerk loooked befuddled and asked, “What does that mean?” we decided to pass. It’s not a big hardship, of course. I always have my easy, go-to foods here at home. But finding those Tofurky frozen pizzas made my day!

Leave a Reply

